topic Head coach posting
[General Discussion]
nickgyp
March 20, 2024, 04:07:34 PM
topic XAVIER CLUB FOOTBALL SHOP 24
[Forum Announcements]
nickgyp
March 16, 2024, 09:52:32 AM

Author Topic: Some Xavier History  (Read 3897 times)

DetroitFlyer

Some Xavier History
« on: October 25, 2007, 11:24:06 AM »
http://www.helmethut.com/Dr.Ken28.html

I ran across this on the Internet and thought some here might enjoy reading it!  ( I also found one for the Flyers, but I'm guessing that you are not too interested in that.... (LOL )

By the way, congrats on the two wins so far....

PFL someday?  I hope so, you know that all time my Flyers have a losing record to Xavier....  I want to get even and pull ahead!

Good luck the rest of the season!

Offline nickgyp

• Superstar
Re: Some Xavier History
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2007, 05:49:44 PM »
DetroitFlyer:

I feel some kinship to you only for the reason that I graduated from UD"s School of Law in '85 but the Muskies always come first. I have visited and posted in the past on the PFL Board and Lurking Dog has posted on Musketeer Madness as well as heading up the PFL board. I think playing 1-AA football in the PFL is a valid goal seeing that UD and Morehead St. were both once Xavier football opponents.

But for now, club football has to establish itself before there would ever be consideration/support
for non-scholarship football on Victory Pkwy.. I know that I have posted on MM in the past that in 1973 X and UD played to a 28-28 tie at Corcoran Field after Greg Scwarber (Moeller '72) kicked a 55-yd field goal for the Flyers to knot the score. It was a super kick and a great game

Regarding the Helmet article, it is a terrifc read and recounts perhapss Xavier's greatest football player, WR Danny Abramowicz, who went on to NFL teams  (the Saints and 49'ers). Also note is QB, Carroll Williams, who in the mid-60's was one of the few African-American QBs in D-1 ball.